Introduce yourself here

Salaam all

I know most of this forum is all about da money money money, but thought it might be nice to hear about who you guys all are inshAllah.

3 questions:

  1. basic bio - age, gender, location, job.
  2. What brings you to this forum?
  3. What gets you out of bed every day?

I’ll go first.

I’m a 29-year-old, live in Goodmayes, East London. Co-founder of IFG, until about 9 months ago I was a corporate lawyer. Married, 2 kids.

What brings me to this forum? Its kinda my job now to be on here lol.

What gets me out of bed each morning? Well, usually its my 3-year-old son who turns up with a book and wants me to read it and will kick me till I do.

But more seriously - I really enjoy investing, finance and money topics. Always have. And I think we Muslims as a whole are missing a big trick by not absolutely nailing this area. So everyday I get to essentially indulge in my hobby and hopefully make a bit of a difference to the world.

that and my alarm clock. :wink:

@Mufti_Billal @Mufti_Faraz_Adam your turns! Let the masses see behind the scholarly masks!

@IsmailM @Zeeshan @Marah_Halloum and others, would love to hear your stories too!

5 Likes

Salam All,

  1. basic bio - age, gender, location, job.

31 year old guy in Birmingham, UK these days. Founder of AZKY Tech Labs. We build webapps for customers around the world using the latest NoCode tools to deliver results faster and cheaper compared to traditional coded approaches.

Happy to connect https://www.linkedin.com/in/zubairlk/

  1. What brings you to this forum?

An interest in Islamic Finance. Some level of investing etc.

  1. What gets you out of bed every day?

2.5 year old… we thought we were training him well. moon = sleep. sun = wake.
But the first light of dawn doesn’t mean baba sun aa gya!

or the call booked with the Australian client.
or fajr alarm.

Thanks
ZubairLK

3 Likes

Wa Alakium Salaam,

Basic bio -

My name is Fahd, 23 Yrs old, currently living in Northampton - been moving like crazy since I got married last year, don’t bank on me staying in Northampton for too long. Finished my Master in International Political Economy - currently working @ PwC - it’s going meh but a really good career experience.

What brings me to this forum -

Well, I’ve been following IFG since 2014/2015 - when you had that dark blue banner and links to articles, like to call myself an OG IFG follower - got interested in personal finance when I started working at Cex when I was 14 and knew from then on I wanted to create something of my own and be financially independent. When I was 15/16 did some fake Forex trading and wondered whether that was halal as well as whether tuition loan was halal and IFG had the answers and since then been following, reading articles, and taking on board you guys advice and wisdom.

What gets me out of bed -

Well, the purist for excellence every day and a willingness to want to change the world - pretty big and bold - but I have a set of goals I want to achieve in all spheres of my life so really just trying to be the best person I can be and leave this world with no regrets.

Extra Part -

Was really chuffed to read your piece in the Financial Times - due to where IFG has come from and where it is now. (Imagine gif of applause) May Allah make it easy for you guys and make the journey ahead easy too.

3 Likes

Salaam

  1. 26M in East London, Chartered Accountant.

  2. Other than perhaps the odd upvote on r/liverpoolfc, I don’t think I’ve ever participated in a proper internet forum. But I’ve always been a curious soul, with Economics and, more recently, personal finance being an active interest. I also want to be more knowledgeable with Islamic Finance in particular and have greater confidence that our Deen has all the answers, both spiritual and worldly. IFG is an extremely useful resource, providing relatable and informative content and it can only be a positive to get more involved with their community.

  3. As I’m sure a lot of you will relate to, I get quite itchy when I don’t feel like I’m learning new things or progressing in some way. Each day is an opportunity to better myself, and that should be the motivation to get out of bed in the morning (though I’m definitely a night owl). It was lovely reading about some of the brothers’ experiences with children, and i’A that can be included in my answer if asked the same question a few years down the line.

1 Like
  1. basic bio - age, gender, location, job.

22 Male - From Glasgow, Just graduated and started my M&A job in Canary Wharf (wfh ofc)

  1. What brings you to this forum?

My two fav things are

  • my religion
  • my career (in that order obvs)

And I have intentions to make waves in the Islamic LevFin , or Islamic PE sector later in my career -

I like touching base on this forum to see whats new and build my understanding of Islamic concepts in regards to my industry

  1. What gets you out of bed every day?

I love to learn

Alhamdullilah I’m blessed to be in the job I’m in and love how much I learn working in the sector I’m in

3 Likes

haha - that’s brilliant. I don’t understand kids’ sleep cycles.

May Allah increase you in your career and aims!

1 Like

I did not know the مرح angle! I can’t believe I’ve been pronouncing it wrong!

I love it - we really value your support - with us through tick and thin. Ugly websites and pretty websites lol.

1 Like

Salaam everyone,

I am Ardit (Ar + dit = Gold + day) => authentic Albanian name.

I am 30 years old Albanian living in Albania. For those who don’t know Albania is a small country in Balkan peninsula in Europe with a young muslim majority population.

I am a Software Engineer working for an US-based software product engineering company. My presentation with this forum was before 2020 but I became more active after returning from Umrah 2020. In Madina I met theology doctoral students whom I asked questions related to some hot finance topics (like crypto exchanges, bitcoin, fin-tech, blockchain etc) for the sharia perspective, but unfortunately I could get any answer(maybe they were not the competent ones). Then I started writing here about one fin-tech startup and answers started coming. You are doing a great job, please keep up with the good content. May Allah accept your deeds here and hereafter!

My newborn son gets me out of bed as he is used to go out in the mornings.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Salaam, I’m Aqib. 27. Live in Oxford.
I’m a Digital UI Designer & End-to-End UX Specialist. Co-founder of FLERR and KAYO Sports

An interest in creating a portfolio of Halal, passive income. Being able to set up something substantial that’s financially rewarding and spend the rest of my energy in passion projects/studying the Deen full-time would be the ideal.

Plus, the ease of access in getting answers to financial/Fiqhi questions brought me to this platform.

The love of learning.

Wa’salaam

2 Likes

There’s a very strong trend developing here lol. Looks like Muslims have kids - not alarm clocks.

Welcome anyway!

2 Likes

Assalamu Alaykum all!

Nice to get to know more about the people in this online community.

I’m a 26 year old guy. I’m based in Birmingham (UK) and work for IFG (Islamic Wills and content creation).

I’m here to learn and share. This forum presents an excellent opportunity to draw on the insights and expertise of our diverse community and, where I have anything to share on topics that come up, I will do so.

I try to spend the time I’m given on serving my family and the wider Muslim community.

1 Like

Assalam alaikum everyone.

No posts here since Nov-20 but lets see if we can get this thread going again.

I’m Altaf, 40 years young :wink: married with 4 children al-hamdlillah. Living in Sharjah, UAE and work in IT Service Delivery for a global construction consultancy.

I have just competed the ‘investing for busy professionals’ course and I joined the forum to learn more about investing and see what conversations are taking place. I’ve left it quite late in my life to start taking responsibility of my finances but as the saying goes ‘it’s never too late!’

Motivation/why I get out of bed every day… I love my job al-hamdulillah but I want to start thinking more long term and divest my income instead of relying on only one source (my job). I’d like to be able to learn skills to earn money regardless of age and beyond the traditional retirement age if necessary.

1 Like

*diversify my income… not divest!! :stuck_out_tongue:

  1. basic bio - age, gender, location, job.

I am Anisah, 36 year old Londoner living Dubai. I work for Dubai Government private education dept.

  1. What brings you to this forum?

I’d love to learn more about how we can catch up with the rest of the world in terms of our wealth. I’d love to educate myself, invest/buy a home in a halal way and inshallah share what I have learnt with my family and my friends.

What you guys are doing is amazing for the Ummah and so refreshing. May Allah shower you all with barakat and open doors for you in your endeavours.

  1. What gets you out of bed every day?
    My three kids! Getting them ready for school is a job in ltself.
2 Likes

Assalamualaikum!

  1. I’m an 18-year-old aspiring medical student who lives in Hyderabad, India.

  2. I just don’t wanna be ''Dr.Shaista" though I love to be a Doc but I have more goals, I wanna establish a business of hotels and restaurants ;D for which I need money and people. Firstly I want to buy shares in a company and hold it for 10+ years I guess. Within that amount of timespan, I would have already got the money from my daily job + money from my shares would give me the bulk of the amount to establish something. Also I wish to learn business in this time span by joining a realistic business school because most of them aren’t practically helpful so I need to join a good one. InshaAllah!
    This is my next 10 year assertive planning which doesn’t seem realistic but I want to do this so I came here for some help. I also want to start a Non-profit charitable organization for needy people and this is to be done first I think. I’m just planning right now but what I’m clear is with becoming an oncologist and buy shares in good company now!

  3. Obviously alarm and not snoozing off is my brain intellect telling me to run for my dreams.

Every day I just wanna try to be a better Muslim so that I can become a better human and subsequently I’ll succeed in every way.
I wrote extra things which weren’t needed but needed to be dumped out from my brain so don’t mind. Lol

1 Like

My name Is saif, 22 years old, I live in Plaestine, study medicine, and I look for any way to support my family’s financial situation.
What brought me here is looking for a fatwa for something I asked about today in the website.
The amount of studying I am behind is what gets me out of bed everyday lol.

  1. basic bio - age, gender, location, job.

29, Male, Malaysia, Field Service Engineer

  1. What brings you to this forum?

Insight and ruling to investment in syariah perspective

  1. What gets you out of bed every day?
    to provide for my family