HSBC Islamic index

Asalamu Alaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh. I hope this message reaches everyone in the best of Emaan and health. I’m a complete beginner with investing and I was wondering how the HSBC Islamic Global Equity Index Fund BD GBP is calculated with a 25.96% annual return? Also how likely is it to achieve this return.
JazakAllah Khayr

W Salam Abdul Samee

We all started as beginners once upon a time, and you are definitely moving in the right direction alhamdullillah.

To answer your two questions:

1. The annual return would have been calculated by taking the market price today, and dividing it by the market price from a year ago. Thus giving you an annual capital return.

2. The likeliness of future returns are difficult to predict. The HSBC Global Equity Index is mainly made up of large cap technology stocks in the US (Apple, Facebook, Google etc.,). This asset class has historically (over the last decade) done very well compared to the rest of the stock market. However, past performance is not an indication of future returns. In general however, the stock market has produced around 5-10% annual returns over a century, even after taking into inflation.

I hope that has answered your question brother. I myself have been an investor in this fund for a couple of years and intend to continue to do so, but only with money that I won’t need for at least a few years. Short term returns can be volatile, but in the long run equities have a track record of being a good place for your capital.

Salaam,
Shaheak

2 Likes

Wonderful reply brother @Shaheak_Choudhury

I would just add that any market weighted global index will have a tilt to tech sector and also to USA so its not just HSBC fund. If you Search couple of other conventional global equity index, directionally they should have the similar concentration as HSBC islamic fund.