Workplace benefits

Salams Mufti,

I work in a bank and as part of my compensation profile, I receive the following benefits. Please can you confirm the halal status of these or what changes I need to make to make these halal:

1. Life Assurance - my employer pays for this and if I die, my family receive x times my salary

2. Income protection - My employer pays for this so if unable to work, I continue receiving income

3. Critical illness - I pay for this so if unable to work, I receive funds

4. Personal accident - I pay for this so if unable to work, receive funds

5. Private medical - my employer pays for this

(6. Pension which I will ask separately about)

JZ

Wasalam

May Allah bless you.
If you are working for a conventional bank, then we strongly advice no to. Please see the link below:

In terms of the benefits you have mentioned:

1. If it is not part of your wage then it is permissible (also see links below)

2. Same as number 1

3. Not permissible unless it is a legal requirement

4. Not permissible unless it is a legal requirement

5. Same as number 1

And Allah knows best!

Salams,

JZ for the advice. Why would these benefits not be halal? They are effectively a form of insurance (just like car insurance or travel insurance). Also don’t understand why private medical wouldn’t be allowed - whether paid for by the individual or the employer - this is like paying for medicines. Please can you elaborate.

Also on the call on Saturday, there was advice that the Hanafi teaching what the Role and not the Employer a son the key defining point.

JZ

Insurance is haram in itself: 1) it can be tolerated in certain situation when it is a legal requirement such as car insurance. This is the most accepted view.