University Job Permissibility

Salaam,

I am a qualified Accountant and I have a question regarding employment in a University.

I understand the seriousness of avoiding riba based transactions within a Finance function and because of this, I am looking to make a change from my current job.

My question is in regards to the finance function of a University - a lot of these institutions are funded by the Government but if I was to work in the finance department, I assume a large part of my job will be to report on the tuition fees from current and prospective students, many of which would be in the form of a loan.

Although I won’t be part of the actual transaction of students taking loans with the Student Loans Company, is it still permissible for me to be a part of the reporting of this transaction? I would greatly appreciate the Islamic perspective on this before I make a decision.

The kind of work I will be undertaking is budgeting, financial reporting, compiling financial statements etc.

Jazak’Allah khair and I pray Allah makes the path to halal income easy for us. Ameen

Wa alaykum salaam,

We praise your concern for a Halal income. May Allah grant us all Halal income and a pure income. Ameen

Are you just reporting past transactions and payments?

Salaam,

It will be the majority of past transactions in the reporting period (usually 12 months) but we will also be taking into account future payments as the students will be there for the full duration of the degree course, which will be longer than 1 year.

I’ve added below a summary of the role.

Main duties

•Supporting the production of the University and Group financial statements in accordance with UK GAAP, OfS requirements and all other relevant accounting regulations.

•Working closely with the external auditors and internal Finance teams