Student Loan - Can't See A Way Out

Assalamu’alaikum Wa Rahmatullah,

I pray that this message finds you in the best of health.

I’m currently a student studying biomedical sciences. Alhamdulillah, I’ll be entering my final year (Insha Allah).

I am currently actively searching for a halal alternative to student finance. Alhamdulillah, I have pretty much exhausted almost every means at my disposal and have dedicated many hours of research for an alternative. Unfortunately, I have been unsuccessful and have found no avail. I then spent my entire summer working full time with the hopes to raise enough funds for university but was not successful.

It’s September, and I still have no alternative to pay for this year’s tuition fees. Due to the current economic situation and financial circumstances at home, my family cannot afford to fund for my studies. Due to my current circumstances, I cannot take a gap year from university to work for myself either. I am currently on a zero-hour contract therefore working to pay for it is not possible at this time.

In the past, I did take a loan to fund my studies. But I hadn’t quite internalised the full severity of riba at the time. I have genuinely tried looking for alternatives with the means that have been given to me and have sought advice. My university has offered a monthly payment plan. However, I don’t want to agree to anything and declare that I have the means to fulfil the conditions of a payment plan when I don’t.

*There is one scholarship that I am hoping to apply for Insha Allah, but I do not receive the results for that until December (whereas the first instalment is due at the end of September/October I think). I don’t know even know if I will be awarded that. Alhamdulillah, there is a fund that I am eligible to apply for but it’s very unlikely that it will cover an entire instalment.