Funding rates in islam

Aslamo alaykom
Im a crypto trader
I trade with margin (x3,x5…) , i see that swap (daily fees) is haram , but in crypto brookers there is no swap
But there is funding rates "Funding collects / returns in the underlying currency, and periodically pays for long positions and short positions every 8 hours. When the funding rate is positive, long positions will pay for short positions; when the funding rate is negative, short positions will pay for long positions. "
So , is it halal ?
Thanks a lot .

1 Like

Assalaamu alaykum,

Can you send us a link explaining more and the specific rates you are referring to on an exchange.

Thank you

1 Like

Thanks for reply
link : https://www.binance.com/en/support/faq/360033525031

Waiting for your reply

Assalaamu alaykum

Any answer on this yet? I haven’t started margin trading on Binance until I’m certain on whether it’s halal.

Anything where you are margin trading online, I would just avoid.

Not only is it almost always haram, it is commercially not a good idea as 80% of people lose money.

1 Like

Margin trading on most conventional platforms is not Shariah compliant.

Allah knows best

Assalam, pls if margin trading is haram in cryptocurrency then pls how do i trade crypto???

What is the reason(s) for the prohibition?

Because some platforms can avoid it

@Mufti_Faraz_Adam pls can u reply to this :pray:t4:

From a Shariah perspective, the margin funds are considered as the bet one places to take a view on the market and to open a position. Therefore, it is impermissible and non-Shariah compliant.

2 Likes

Salam Mufti Faraz Adam,

I’m sorry for my english, it’s not my native langage.

I just opened an account on Binance and i wanted to know if i can invest on bitcoin, ethereum and stellar.

I do understand by margin funds that is the mecanism of investing money you don’t possess. Am i right ?

If i buy bitcoin with my own money there is no problem selling and buying on this platform ?